The îlot of La Boisselle

Unique vestige of First World War combats

The plot called the “îlot” in French has been unchanged since 1916. It is in the village of La Boisselle, in the Somme department, and still bears traces of the fighting that took place there during the First World War.

It was French soldiers posted to this sector of the front who named it “l'îIot”. The German troops called it “Granathof”, while the British named it “The Glory Hole”.

This plot was the theatre of numerous offensives and intense underground warfare, the ferocity of which can still be seen today in the dozen or so craters. Several hundred soldiers lost their lives here. Some of them, those whose bodies were never found, still lie here today.

In homage to those fallen on the battlefield, the association wishes to preserve and highlight this unique heritage from the First World War. The land will then be a memorial for future generations.

“It's hard to form an idea of what the îlot was like: hell, the soldiers would say; more down to earth: an indescribable chaos of stones, wood, bricks, all manner of objects… You had to crawl from place to place, but men lived there, fought there, clung there.”

— Commandant Thomas, 11/4 French Engineer Company

L'îlot de La Boisselle

Vestige unique des combats de la Première Guerre mondiale

Préservé depuis 1916, le terrain dit de « l'îlot », situé sur la commune de La Boisselle, dans le département de la Somme, porte toujours les traces des combats qui eurent lieu lors la Première Guerre mondiale.

Les soldats français qui furent affectés dans ce secteur du front le surnommèrent l'îlot. Les troupes allemandes lui donnèrent le nom de « Granathof », tandis que les Britanniques le baptisèrent le « Glory Hole ».

Ce terrain fut le théâtre de nombreuses offensives, ainsi que d'une intense guerre des mines dont la dizaine de cratères, toujours visibles aujourd'hui, témoignent de la férocité des combats qui s'y déroulèrent. Plusieurs centaines de soldats y perdirent la vie. Certains, dont les corps ne furent jamais retrouvés, y reposent encore.

En hommage à ceux tombés au champ d'honneur, l'association des Amis de l'îlot souhaite préserver et valoriser ce patrimoine unique de la Première Guerre mondiale. Elle veut ainsi en faire une terre de mémoire pour les générations futures.

« On ne saurait se faire une idée de ce qu'était alors l'îlot de La Boisselle : un enfer, disaient les occupants ; dans un domaine plus matériel, un chaos indescriptible de pierres, de bois, de briques, d'objets de toutes sortes… On n'y circulait qu'à quatre pattes, mais nos hommes y vivaient, y luttaient, s'y cramponnaient. »

— Commandant Thomas, Compagnie du génie 11/4